Wedding Cake- DIY Style

As much as I wish Wedding Planning was just like it is in the movies with all of the presents, people gushing all over you and limitless cash flowing to use at your disposal(cue father of the bride intro), that just isn’t the case.  Yes, it can get quite stressful, there is no denying that but there are many moments where you are able to just have fun and get creative.

Since I will be having a very small intimate wedding and trying to keep the costs as low as possible, I am looking to do most things myself (ie: Flower Design, Cake, Room Set-Up…)  Don’t get me wrong, I am so excited about it!  I wouldn’t have it any other way, even if I did have thousands and thousands of dollars to spend.

Today I began my DIY experiment- The Wedding Cake!

I know what you are thinking.  I’ve gone off the deep end.  Just hear me out.

I am obsessed with wedding cakes and how beautiful they look on display.  I spend my days gushing over new ideas and new designs.  As much as I love cakes, I can’t bring myself to spend hundreds of dollars on ONE cake.  Plus, the venue has a $5.00 per person cake cutting fee if we bring in a wedding cake.  No thank you! What is a girl to do?

Imagine:

I envision pedestals of beautiful cakes, candles and luxurious linens.

*if you know who belongs to this photo, please let me know so I can give credit
*if you know who belongs to this photo, please let me know so I can give credit

I love the simple designed wedding cakes. They are my favorite!

I often think, why can’t I do that? Well my friends…I did it.

Here are the steps I took to make my first DIY Wedding Cake.

Step 1) Buy Supplies & Ingredients-

Step 1
supplies

You will need:

Round Styrofoam Pieces-I was looking for 3″ high pieces but couldn’t find any so I just used two 1″ rounds to make a taller layer.  You can find these Styrofoam pieces at craft stores or even online- known as cake dummies.  You can also buy square pieces if you prefer that design.

Cake Spatula

Icing: I made Royal Icing.  It dries hard and you can add food coloring if you like.  I have heard that PermaIce and Spackle also works.

Royal Icing:

4 Cups Powered Sugar

3 Egg WHITES- No Yolks

1/2 Teaspoon of Cream of Tarter

Step 2) Arrange the Cake-

arrange
arrange

I arranged the Styrofoam in 3 tiers to gain height and then placed the Cake on a piece of foil before icing the cake.

Step 3) Combine the Powdered Sugar & Cream of Tarter-

sifting
sifting

Sift the Powdered Sugar with the Cream of Tarter.

Step 4) Separate the Eggs-

Step 4
eggs

Separate the Yolks from the Egg Whites.  We will only be using the Egg Whites for the Icing.  It will act as the compound that hardens the icing.

Step 5) Mix All Ingredients-

broken mixer
broken mixer

Beat the Egg Whites and Powdered Sugar/Cream of Tarter on High for 7-8 Minutes.

*Beware- thickness of icing may break your mixer 😦

Step 6) Ice The “Cake”-

spatula
spatula

Keep a damp cloth over the icing so it doesn’t harden.  Use the icing as “glue” between the layers.

Crystals
Crystals

I also added Crystal Sprinkles to the top layers of the cake.  You can’t really tell in this photo.

Step 7) Place Wedding Topper on the Cake-

Finished Product
Finished Product

I love this Bride & Groom as you probably have noticed.  Even though it technically isn’t a cake topper, I think it works.

Lovely
Lovely

It is simple, pristine white and cost me $15.00 to make.  I think I have a winner.

The top tier on one of the cakes will be real so we can do the “cake cutting ceremony.”  The guests will be served dessert that comes with dinner and I will get my cake buffet.

I am looking to do more DIY Cakes with different designs so it can complete my cake buffet vision. Stay tuned!

What do you think?  Would you ever take on such an untraditional role in planning your wedding?

30 Comments

Filed under Cake, DIY

30 responses to “Wedding Cake- DIY Style

  1. Wow Abby! The cake looks absolutely wonderful and would save an engaged couple a lot of $ for their wedding! I loved it so much I posted a blog article about this and linked back to your blog. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow! Thank you so much!! 🙂 I’m really glad you liked the idea and I hope it gives other brides a source where they can still have a beautiful wedding cake yet can save a little money.

  3. Bethany L.

    Beautiful. I like that cake topper too! How many cakes do you plan to have at your “cake buffet”?
    Bethany

  4. Thanks, Bethany!!

    I would love to have at least three cakes on pedestals. Each cake will have varying heights and different designs but all coming together to create a french rustic look.

  5. mckenzie sherrier

    I’m so gonna try this out. You rule.

  6. Haha! Thanks, McKenzie! Good Luck!

  7. What a great idea! I absolutely love it. You make it look sooo easy.

  8. Pingback: DIY Daily: Fake Wedding Cake | Inspirations & Creations - Elizabeth Anne Designs: The Wedding Blog

  9. Pingback: Hot News » Crystal Icing

  10. I can’t remember where I saw it, but at the time of the cake cutting the bride & groom decided they were going to cut their own cake and serve it to their guests. It became their receiving line. Guests came up to the cake table where the bride & groom were cutting the cake to get their slice and they had the chance to talk to each guest that way. I thought that was a great idea! That would definitely cut out the cake cutting fee too. Trust me, the least you have to do the week before and the day of, the better.

  11. @ Tiffany: That is an such a great idea {especially when you have a small guest list like me!}

    I’m sure this would create a wonderful atmosphere as well.

    Thank you for the tip!

  12. Pingback: Cakes - GupShup Forums

  13. Wanted to wish you the best of luck with everything and congrats on the big day. dont forget to read about my blog on weddings, a little something i put
    together on my free time. sort of like a hobbie of mine. so thats what I have been up to.

    Barb

    http://online4love.net46.net/ – weddings.

  14. Pingback: 101 DIY Projects and Ideas | Stylish Events

  15. Thanks for article. It is really good stuff.
    I enjoy to browse peachesbyplums.wordpress.com!

    chevy chase teeth whitening

  16. That was a nice read.

  17. great article. thanks!

  18. lee

    what a great idea!!! it’s warm & humid in Hong Kong, do you think I could do it 1 week before wedding???

  19. @lee: You absolutely should make one!! It took me only about an hour and about 4 1/2 months later- It is still sitting beautifully in my office.

  20. I’m going to assume that since Abby’s faux cake is still lovely 4-1/2 months later, that the icing hardened and sort of “preserved”???

    I am doing a version of this for our ceremony next year. My grandmother is making a homemade cake (which will sit on top) and we are serving matching sheet cake. Same cake, less cost.

    Thanks for the tutorial!

  21. @Natosha: You are absolutely right!! The great thing is is that the color never faded and it looks just as “fresh” as it did when I first made it.

    Be sure to send some pictures along of your cake when it’s completed! We would love to see it!

  22. emmalea

    Thank you so much for posting this step by step process with pictures. I need all the help I can get! After checking a lot of bakeries and companies in my area that are charging $200+ to rent a fake cake…ummm HELLO? I’m going to do it myself. Costco sheet cakes are $20 for now and will help us keep the costs down.

    Any idea on how to get the icing really smooth? I don’t know how to ice a cake, so any tips would be greatly appreciated. And how early did you make this display cake our wedding isn’t until September 2010 so I don’t want it getting eaten by insects if I place it in storage.

  23. Emmalea, my pleasure!
    I would just use a rounded tip spatula to ice the cake and get it as smooth as possible. I wanted more of a rustic look so I did it differently but I’m sure you could have a nice clean look by doing it the same way. I made this cake last March and it still looks the same!

    Perhaps try one now to practice and experiment and then do the real one closer to the wedding? The icing is extremely hard so nothing can really penetrate it.

    Good luck! Let us know how it turns out!

  24. Never would have thought of this… but it makes so much sense for young brides with a strict budget!

  25. mary

    i love this!!!! my wedding also will be on a very tight budget.Im basically doing the entire wedding myself and already knew i would make my own cake.this idea is sooo great. i will use sheet cakes (probably home made) and the fake cake for display.one trick i found for smooth frosting is a metal spatula and a warm cup of water dipping the spatula in the water heats it up enough to really smooth things out.hope this helps.thanks for the great advice!

  26. Samaria Wright

    Hi. Your cake is beautiful! Where exactly did you get your styrofoam cake dummies? What craft store? I looked in Hobby Lobby. I did not see any. Thank You.

  27. What i don’t understood is in reality how you are no longer really much more smartly-favored than you might be right now. You are so intelligent. You recognize thus considerably with regards to this topic, made me in my view imagine it from numerous numerous angles. Its like women and men aren’t involved unless it is one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your individual stuffs great. At all times care for it up!

  28. Thanks for finally talking about >Wedding Cake- DIY Style | <Liked it!

  29. Hello. How long does the cake last. ie is it possible to store the cake for months without the worry of attracting critters and mold?

  30. Pingback: 10 Beautifully Delicious DIY Wedding Cake Ideas - Watchmecraft

Leave a comment