Is Your Wedding “Blog-Worthy?”

I have a confession to make.  Nine times out of ten, when I’m going through all of my favorite blogs, I don’t read the articles and just look at the pretty pictures.  I know, I know, I’m sure the posts are wonderful and intriguing but I’m more of a visual girl and it’s the actual photos that grab my attention.

There are those times where someone’s post stops me dead in my tracks and this was one of them. It put everything into perspective when it comes to planning a wedding.

I’m sure I’m not the only one that has a little voice in the back of their head saying “Oh, but would this get me featured in this or that blog” or “I need to think of something so different that it would impress other brides.”  I know, it’s terrible and I don’t want to admit it but sadly, it’s true.  It’s hard not to get wrapped up in wanting everything to be perfect and “blog-worthy.”

Meg’s post on A Practical Wedding really hit home.  It made me think of the real reason why we stress over all the details of a wedding.

I’ve gotten to a point where it just doesn’t matter.  We’ve been engaged for over a year and I’m past the hype of needing everything to be perfect and it feels amazing!

via A Practical Wedding

Does anyone else feel the same? Are you abandoning the need to have your wedding be “blog-worthy?”

4 Comments

Filed under Great Finds, Life, Planning

4 responses to “Is Your Wedding “Blog-Worthy?”

  1. I think that article makes sense. Brides need to focus on just being happy and not meeting the needs of what “blog weddings” look like.

    I have seen weddings lavish and small and what makes a good wedding is happy people not the decor.

  2. I’ve been thinking over my favorite weddings this past season, and realizing that my favorite clients often don’t have weddings with magazine styling. I’m also getting this thing…. where I see weddings online + in mags that look staged and it is kind of turning me off. For me, the best parts of a wedding are the emotion, happiness, joy, love, etc. etc. If they have great details and styling then all the better. But the best parts of a wedding are the parts that you can buy. Hope that doesn’t sound too cheesy.

  3. Sorry I meant the parts that you “CAN’T” buy… ha ha..

  4. Absolutely! That’s why I’ve pretty much abandoned my blog. I’ve had SO much more fun planning my wedding without it.

Leave a Reply

