I shall not judge another “2-dress Bride.”

Okay…I know what you are thinking.  “How can yet another girl be a 2 Dress Bride.”

Well, technically I am not one… yet!

To be honest, I’m having second thoughts about my wedding dress.

picture-34

I’m not sure if it is “wedding” enough.  I also worry that I’m going to feel a bit self conscious in it if the wii fit doesn’t take off more pounds.  The way the dress is meant to fit is not very forgiving.

If you remember, I bought this sleek little dress at BCBG after getting fed up trying on ridiculously expensive gowns.  I was at a point where I didn’t want give the wedding industry the satisfaction of capturing yet another bride.

My dress has been hanging in my closet since March and I get a chance to look at it every day.  When I first tried it on, I thought that i could definitely work with it and turn it into wedding material.

I was constantly asking my fiance for approval (yes, he’s seen the dress.) Ger would always say to me that its beautiful but I need to feel like a bride in it and that this day only comes along once in a lifetime.  The words resonated in my head.  Did I really feel like a Bride in this dress? Was this the one?

I secretly began to freak out.  Could this possibility be happening? Of all the stories I read about “2 dress brides.”  I thought I had escaped this phenomena.  I guess not.

On Friday I made the decision to ease my mind and just try on a couple more dresses.  I was hoping that this would only strengthen my decision to keep my present wedding dress.

On Saturday I was back in Priscilla of Boston trying on dresses.  I fell in love with Piper in the Vineyard Collection. I liked that it was much more modern then the previous Priscilla of Boston dresses.  I definitely felt more “bride” like but was it worth the thousands of dollars more? Very good question.

DSC02704

DSC02703

After sleeping on it, I realized that there was something that I didn’t like.  It was in fact, not the one.

I did more searching and somehow stumbled upon the Vera Wang dresses I tried on previously.

002_primary

via Brides.com {source}

I loved the way this one fit and I felt more comfortable with the straps.  It is very similar to the Priscilla of Boston Piper dress.

The next dress I tried on was one of my favorites as well.

005_primary

via Brides.com {source}

This dress had a lot of the same features of the Piper and Vera Wang.  I loved the flirty style of the straps, how natural it felt and how flattering it was.I didn’t feel that I needed to change a lot about me to feel beautiful in it.

This week I’m going to set up an appointment at Vera Wang to try on these dresses again.  Both of these dresses were at the March Sample Sale and from the 2006 Spring Line.  I only hope I can find them again!

The light at the end of the tunnel reminds me that luckily, if I do decide to buy a new dress, I won’t lose a lot on the first dress.  I can certainly shorten it and wear it for a another event!

So what do you think? Should I keep my original dress that I got at a stunning price or buy another one that has more of a wedding look to it for a much higher cost?

Please help!!

12 Comments

Filed under Wedding Dresses

12 responses to “I shall not judge another “2-dress Bride.”

  1. go with what makes you feel the best!! if it means spending more money, and you can afford it, then by all means, go for it!!

  2. Kim

    Close your eyes. Which dress do you want to see yourself wearing when you are 85 and showing your children and grandchildren your wedding album? That’s what I did 18 years ago and have never regretted it! Good Luck.

  3. I am having the same thoughts and my wedding is about 4 months away. Ugh! But you need to feel completely stunning in your gown and have memories of that day you were a princess dressed as one! I agree..close your eyes and think about what you can envision yourself in. Keep us posted! (btw… I remember you from a visit we made to your venue when my mom and I looked for my reception! I found your blog through our photographers Person & Killian) 🙂 Congratulations on your engagement!

  4. @Vanessa: Thanks so much for your support!! I definitely have a lot to think about.

    @Kim: That is really good advice. I never thought of it that way!

    @Kara: Thank you for stopping by! We meet again! That is so excited that you will be working with Lauren and Jill. They are absolutely amazing 🙂

  5. Pingback: Elizabeth Anne Designs Feature: Wedding Dress- The Result « Peaches by Plums

  6. First off, you look stunning in your first dress. Just curious, would you feel more like a bride if you wore a veil with it? That always made the difference for me.

    That said, I totally know what you are going through. I was a 2-dress bride and hated the whole process of shopping for my dress. I am not that into clothes usually, so this was just really, really hard. Ultimately I am so glad I switched over to dress number two. I was able to sell the first dress, which I bought at a sample sale, for what I paid for it. The second dress was more $, but also definitely more me. Good luck- can’t wait to see which one you choose!

  7. @Boston Wedding Photographers: I totally think I need to get a veil. I’m thinking of a short bubble veil that would really make the dress. Now I just have to find the veil!!

  8. Stephanie

    Oh Abby! I found my wedding dress this weekend and its a Vera Wang. I couldn’t help realizing today as I read your concerns regarding dresses and costs that I had discovered a secret in Boston that I simply MUST share with you. You have to go to Vows Abby. Its in Newton and they have a fabulous website too (bridepower.com). You can find beautiful designer wedding gowns here at 50 – 70% off (as I did this weekend). I should have told Ger at work this morning but I had no idea you were having second thoughts about your dress!! Oh I hope my tid bit of info is helpful and not too late! By the way you can take the 59 bus to Vows – I’m in town if you need a fellow bride’s opinion =o)

  9. @Stephanie: Thanks for stopping by my blog! I hope your wedding plans are coming along nicely!

    You must be so excited that you found your wedding dress!! It’s funny you mention Vows. I’m actually planning a trip out there in a couple weeks with a few friends!! I can’t wait to see their selection. I think it is going to be so much fun.

    Hope to see you soon!

  10. Alaina

    Abby, as I told you yesterday I also got my dress. And, I also have had some second thoughts. I bought my dress at Priscilla’s. It was the first dress that i tried on. Of course I tried on many more afterwards, but none felt the same. The funny thing is that it is nothing like what I pictured. I didn’t really know what I wanted, but when I pictured myself in a wedding dress it wasn’t that. The moment I tried on my dress I felt like a bride. And, as you mentioned earlier I didn’t feel like I had to do much to feel beautiful in it. I was glowing and confident and although it wasn’t what I pictured, I had also never imagined a dress feeling so right. Like you said, it was not about the dress, it was about me. The more you look at magazines, blogs, pictures of other brides, I am convinced that you will second guess yourself. The reality is there are so many beautiful and different gowns out there. Don’t stress, try to relax and go with your gut. I think the answer will come to you. And, I think the gown looks beautiful on you!!!!! And, I haven’t been on your blog since April. It is great!!! Congrats!

  11. Excellent! Thanks for sharing the info. You write really well. Hope to see much more flowing from your end. Cheers 🙂

  12. If you possibly can desire it, you’ll be able to do it.

Leave a Reply

