The Inescapable Counter

I was out shopping yesterday and decided to stop in Macy’s.  As many of you know, the first thing you see are the cosmetics counters.  The shiny packaging, beautifully lit displays and carefully coordinated colors can lure you into a false sense of security.

picture-8

{source}

Then it all begins.  A crowd of aggressive makeup consultants fix their eyes on you (their next prey) and get ready to pounce.  When this happens, everything goes down hill.

beauty060605_560

{source}

I immediately go into survival mode and set a plan of how I am going to make it through the flood of consultants with no one approaching me, no samples of perfume and not one ounce of foundation rubbed on my face.  This is no easy task.

BE077626

{source}

After feeling like the above photo…My eyes start to blur (most likely from the woman spraying perfume in them) and then get so frustrated and end up darting right back out of the door.  Defeated again…I couldn’t even make it to the shoe section where the next piranhas await.

picture-72

{source}

This experience really correlates to how I sometimes feel about wedding planning.

I am really turned off by the aggressive sales person and hate feeling under pressure and overwhelmed.

A few months back, I went to my first Bridal Show.  There were hundreds of brides, long lines, and noise…oh the noise.  After getting past the first round of sales people (while still waiting in the line to get into the show) I knew that this was going to be a disaster.  When we walked into the show, we immediately were bombarded with more pushy sales people trying to sell honeymoons, bridesmaid dresses, cakes, limos, laser eye surgery, bands, etc.  How was I ever expected to find my wedding vendors in this environment?

Maybe I’ve become a wedding snob from working in the industry but I think it’s more than that.  This is such a personal experience and I feel that I should be able to treat myself a little bit (and I don’t mean monetarily wise.)

I love going to events that are more intimate and personal.  In terms of the cosmetic counter analogy, this is what I am looking for.

photo-241

{source}

eyeshadow

{source}

makeup-counter-275

{source}

Doesn’t this look more relaxing, unforced and more personal?

How do you find the planning experience?  Do you feel overwhelmed by pushy sales people or do you thrive in these environments?

1 Comment

Filed under Planning

One response to “The Inescapable Counter

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "inescapable"

Leave a Reply

